What Is A Four – Point Inspection?

A Four Point Inspection, focuses on the 4 main components of the home.

1. HVAC – (Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning)
2. Electrical panels and wiring
3. Plumbing fixtures and connections
4. Roof

The purpose of the inspection is to determine the age, the functionality, and the condition of the home’s four major components.


Why Do I Need a Four-Point Inspection?

Insurance companies typically require older homes (mainly 25 years or older) to undergo a Four-Point Inspection prior to issuing Homeowners Insurance Policies. The common concern for the insurance company is that there may be conditions in an older home that could become a liability. Concerns that extend to the condition of the HVAC, electrical, plumbing systems, and roof. If these elements are in poor condition, need updating, or were improperly installed, they may fail and cause fire or water damage to the home.

Who Fills Out the Form?

The insurance company requires that a licensed professional prepares a report such as a Home Inspector.

Can a Home Inspection Report be used as a substitute?

Unfortunately, a Home Inspection report cannot be used as a substitute for a Four Point Inspection. Insurance companies require specific information and most companies use a specific report to be filled in regarding the HVAC, electrical, plumbing, and roof.

Get the Property Inspection Services You Deserve